A Second Interview

Earlier this month I interviewed for a tenure-track position at a college near NYC. Somehow, I was invited back for a second interview. This has never happened to me before, even though I have applied for a fair number of jobs over the last three years. I am not sure what to make of this development. Why this college? Why now? I have my theories, which I discussed in my last post. I think it has to do with the fact that they need a Cheesemaker, right fucking now, and I happen to (sort of) be one. It’s dumb luck, even though I don’t feel lucky.

In any case, the second round was pleasant enough. I had to make conversation, almost none of which was about the job or my qualifications. They are satisfied that I can make cheese, and that is enough. At this point I think they want to know if I am a decent person. Would they like to have me hanging around the department for the next 6 years until I am inevitably denied tenure for not publishing anything in my field? (Since I have no intention of writing in my field ever again, that seems the most likely outcome.) Am I a good conversationalist? Can I ask all the right questions about my potential colleagues’ scholarly pursuits while also expressing an adequate level of interest in their toddlers, when toddlers are mentioned as part of casual lunchtime conversation?

I did my best, even though I continue to have tremendous anxiety about the job and what it would mean for me to assume the role of Head Cheesemaker. Like Bartleby, whose famous words have been revived as a slogan for May Day, I would prefer not to.

But this preference must also be considered in light of my current employment situation in which I am earning around $15/hour as a temp. So far this has meant going back and forth between a law firm and a Fancy Wall Street firm (where I am typing this right now). Between these two jobs, I have managed to work two or three days per week answering phones, ordering lunch, and being generally agreeable.

If I am offered this tenure-track job, I will have to make a decision.

I am not saying that my choice is between accepting the job or continuing to work as a phone-answerer extraordinaire for the rest of my days. (The fact is, I now know that people who have the skill to manage a multi-line conference phone with deftness and aplomb are worthy of the highest regard.)

No, the choice would actually be between assuming the life of a professor (at least temporarily) or continuing to pursue some other life that I haven’t discovered yet in the hours when I am not temping. This is a prospect with a certain charm, if not a regular paycheck.

I am trying to think about this choice without all the ego that naturally comes into play, but it is not easy.

For example, one day last week I was being interviewed for the role of Head Cheesemaker and introduced as “Dr. Post-Academic in NYC” all over campus. The very next day, I was making photocopies and filing receipts and being ignored by a bunch of hot shots who walk around with cell phones glued to their ears talking about Important Money Things all day. One time I was alone in the elevator with one of the Fancy Wall Street firm bosses, and he didn’t even acknowledge my presence. These guys have absolutely everything, and they’re rude, miserable assholes.

So I guess if I get the tenure-track job, then I get to be the asshole, only with a much smaller salary? Of course, I would try my best NOT to be an asshole. But it may be that some are born to be assholes, some become assholes, and some Head Cheesemakers have asshole-ness thrust upon them. There’s no escaping it.

Today, one of the full-time secretaries at Fancy Wall Street firm befriended me and started giving me advice about which head hunter firms I should register with if I want to start doing this work full-time, which she presumes I do. “It’s tough out there,” she said sympathetically, as she wrote down the contact info for the recruiter who helped her find her current job, which she hates.

I think she feels sorry for me.

I am probably exaggerating. It’s not like anything matters, what I do or don’t do. Who cares, when you really think about it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Second Interview

  1. Sun says:

    I took a TT job straight out of grad school when I was ambivalent about the whole academic enterprise. It was a huge mistake because I got sucked into the tenure-track rat race and felt like I was making progress in my career even though it was clear that I did not fit with the department. (Academic colleagues can also make you feel like you don’t exist. I particularly felt this way during meetings.)

    I was not renewed after pretenure review and that has been a very difficult mental transition because I had now become more invested in making things work as an academic. I probably should have had clearer contingency plans in place for the nonrenewal. I suppose that would be my advice to you if you do get offered this position and decide to take it (although by the sound of it you already are formulating a backup to your backup).

    Keep us posted! I love reading about your adventures!

  2. As a recovering academic, I’m having problems with the ego thing too. I’m interviewing for a good job with a less-than-glamorous title (along the “support staff” lines). I would be lying if I said it didn’t bother me just a tiny bit. But then again “adjunct professor”–my other option–ain’t so hot either. This has to be one way academia keeps such a hold on people. There’s no real way to leave and keep the same status level. It always seems to require starting all over again, which can make even the sanest of people say things like, “Well, maybe I’ll go on the market again. Just *one* more time.”

  3. Take the job if you’re offered it. That way you will buy some time for working out what you want your next move to be. Just try and structure your work-life balance in a sane way so that you’re not like all the other nutcase academics out there who think the sky will fall if they don’t finish their article/book reviews/exam marking etc. Work out what your minimum hours required at work are and treat it like a normal job – don’t take work home, don’t take on more than you can finish, don’t spend hours pouring over class preparation, bracket off your research time and set limits on when you do your emailing. By gaining control over your workload you won’t make any friends or impress any committees, but at least you will have a life. In which you can do other things. Do keep us posted on what happens!

  4. Pingback: Here Is What Happened At My Meeting With The Dean | A Post-Academic in NYC

Leave a Reply

